AG#36 Feed Zone IPA

image

This was my second brewday in a 24 hour period, just so I can join in the with the Leeds International Beer Festival, homebrew competition!   Very basic recipe, very brief write up. 

I thought I should stick with the pack and use a Tour de France inspired name.  I quite liked Sticky Bidon “the term used to describe what happens when a rider gets a new water bottle from the team car.  They tend to hang onto it for longer than necessary to get a free tow for a hundred metres or so“.  But, went with Feed Zone “a designated section of the race where riders pick up musettes from the soigneurs”.  A talking point…OK!

You can find the source of that interesting information and other Tour-lingo, here.

Original Gravity (OG): 1.050
Final Gravity (FG): 1.011
Alcohol (ABV): 5.0%
Colour (EBC): 10
Bitterness (IBU): 46 (Average)

4.26kg Pale Ale Malt
0.11kg Crystal Malt 60L

12g Warrior (leaf) (18.2% Alpha) FWH
30g Citra (pellet) (14.4% Alpha) @10 minutes from the end (boil)
80g Citra (pellet) (14.4% Alpha) @0 minutes from the end (aroma)
100g Citra (pellet) (14.4% Alpha) dry hop

Safale US-05 Ale Yeast (dry) 1pkt of 11.5g

Strike temp of 74C, 11.4L liquor for 4.37kg grain. Mashed in at 66C (single step infusion).   Mashed for 75 minutes.  Sparged at 76C 18.6L liquor.    60 minute boil.

I collected 19L of wort, post boil, with an OG of 1.051.  Pitched the yeast at 20C.

I’ll be transferring to secondary and adding the dry hops.

4 thoughts on “AG#36 Feed Zone IPA

  1. Hi David
    Do you find you get better mash efficiency by mashing for 75 minutes? I stick with the usual 60 mins. Also how long do you tend to dry hop for? I’ve ‘settled’ on 5 days at the minute but still open for experimenting with times.
    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog posts, very helpful!
    Cheers
    Paul.

    • Hi Paul,
      No significant benefit from 75 minute mash, yet! I tend to dry hop for 3-5 days. I’ve had bad results for leaving beer on dry hops for 10+ days.
      Thanks for reading…nice to know they help someone else other than me 🙂

  2. Could you tell me what i need to start up?
    Id appreciate your time….
    hope the interview went well…..
    regards
    tony

Please let me know what you think of my post. Thanks.

