AG#12 Broadford Summer Ale

Brewed a Blonde Ale today for a birthday BBQ next month.  Planned to brew a low abv, modestly bittered, easy drinking summer ale to suit as many of our guests as possible.  It’ll be dispensed from a 20L polypin and hand pump and am reliably informed that there will be no need to prime the beer as the sparkler will do all the work for me.  Proper Northern!

This is just a quick write up for my records and for anyone interested in keeping track of what I’m up to.

I had one hiccup on this brewday. I had a rather worrying discrepency between the SG reading pre and post boil.  I haven’t had chance to work out where I went wrong, but I’ll do better next time.  It may be time to invest in a refractometer so that I can take instant SG readings of hot wort.

Original Gravity (OG): 1.039 (°P): 18.7
Final Gravity (FG): 1.010 (°P): 4.1
Alcohol (ABV): 3.83 %
Colour (SRM): 4.8 (EBC): 9.5
Bitterness (IBU): 21.4 (Average)

70% Maris Otter
14% Golden Promise
11% Munich I
5% Pale Wheat Malt

20g UK Cascade (5.69% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
10g UK Cascade (5.69% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil)
35g Saaz (3.4% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)
6g UK Cascade (5.69% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil)
26g Saaz (3.4% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 67°C for 70 Minutes.  Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 20°C with Safale US-05

Strike temp of 75C and 10.0L liquor for 3.73kg grain.  Mashed in at 67C.

Mashed for 70 minutes and temp remained constant.  Sparged at 83C, 22.6L liquor.  Collected 29L wort (pre boil) at specific gravity (SG) of 1.042 (1st runnings SG of 1.080 at 39C).

Due to time contraints I had to cut my boil volume to 25L.  First hop addition of 20g UK Cascade at 60 minutes.  Second additions of UK Cascade (10g) and Saaz (35g) at 10 minutes.  Added a protofloc tablet at 15 minutes, and a third copper addition of  Saaz (26g) and UK Cascade (6g).

Collected 22L of wort post boil with SG of 1.036.  Cooled to 20C and dry pitched my yeast.  Back to liquid yeast for my next brew!

I’ll be dry hopping this with some more Saaz.

A few more photos of the brewday here.

4 thoughts on “AG#12 Broadford Summer Ale

      • Blame me, I found that the ‘Bag-in-Box’ poly pins we use at work just swell up and want to burst out with primed homebrew in them. If I was to use one again at home I’d either prime really low or not at all.
        Condition just doesn’t build up in a Bag-in-Box the same as it does in a cask.
        I suppose you could borrow a cask & tap from us at work and do just what you did for the NCB meeting (while we seem to have a few pins in).

Please let me know what you think of my post. Thanks.

